The SRT Board of Directors oversee the strategic direction of the cooperative by attending monthly board meetings to receive updates and discuss ongoing projects. Additionally, benchmark reports are given to ensure the cooperative is meeting the goals set forth. SRT Board members also serve on internal SRT committees such as Scholarship, Annual Meeting, and Governance, to name a few. They attend community events throughout the year and represent SRT on various state and national telecommunications associations. Board members represent one of four districts in the SRT territory and are elected for three-year terms. Each year at the annual meeting, members elect someone from each of the four districts to represent them on the cooperative board. Between monthly board meetings, strategic planning, committee meetings and other commitments, board members can be involved with SRT business nearly 40 days per year.


Antler, Berthold, Carpio, Des Lacs, Donnybrook, Mohall, Sherwood, and Tolley


Allan Engh


  • SRT Director since 1998
  • Member of the SRT Economic Development, Annual Meeting and Building committees
  • Former Mayor of 16 years for the city
    of Sherwood
  • Resides in Sherwood with wife Connie

Ardel Rice

  • SRT Director since 2000
  • Retired farmer in the Mohall area
  • Member of the SRT Strategic Planning, Building, Board Retreat and Board Policy and Compensation committees
  • Serves as Secretary/Treasurer for the Mohall Rural Fire Protection District and serves on the Mohall Community Development Fund Committee
  • Resides in Mohall with his wife, Deanna; they have three sons and six grandchildren

Stanley Vangsness

  • SRT Director since 2005
  • Small grain farmer near Berthold & Carpio
  • Serves as a state director on the NDATC Board of Directors
  • Resides near Berthold with his wife, Marianne and their two daughters


Minot Air Force Base, Deering, Granville, Norwich, Glenburn, Landa, Lansford, Maxbass, Sawyer, South Prairie, Velva, and Westhope


Dennis Erber

  • SRT Director since 1988
  • Self-employed farmer, operating a grain farm south of Glenburn, ND with wife Karen
  • Member of SRT Economic Development and Board Retreat Committees
  • Resides in Glenburn with his wife, Karen. They have three sons and six grandchildren.

Kristi Miller

Vice president

  • SRT Director since 2015
  • Employed part-time at Peoples State Bank in Westhope and also helps out on the family farm
  • Member of SRT Annual Meeting and Scholarship Committees
  • Resides in the rural Maxbass/Newburg area with her husband Warren

Tom Jespersen

  • SRT Director since 2019
  • Energy Services and Rural Development Manager at Verendrye Electric Cooperative
  • Volunteer on the Velva Rural Fire Department
  • Current member of The Association of Energy and Engineers
  • Resides in Velva with his wife, Cheryl, and their nine children


Butte, Kief, Kongsberg, Karlsruhe, Martin, Metigoshe, Newburg, Towner, and Upham


Stuart Rothe

  • SRT Director since 2019
  • Grain Farmer in the Newburg area
  • Current Vice President of the North Central Electric Cooperative Board
  • Board member of Kane Township for over 20 years
  • Resides in Newburg with his wife, Angie, and has three children

John Marshall

  • SRT Director since 1996
  • Cattle rancher near Towner
  • Member of the SRT Annual Meeting and Building Committees
  • Resides in rural Towner with his wife Marie; they have three children

Dennis Schott

  • SRT Director since 1982
  • Retired business owner who resides in Butte with his wife, Lois
  • Member of the SRT Scholarship and
    Budget Committees
  • Chairman of the North Dakota Association of Telecommunications Cooperatives' Political Action Committee and member
    of NTCA's Rural Broadband Political
    Action Committee
  • Active in the community and involved in
    St. Paul's Lutheran Church and Camp
    of the Cross
  • Serves on the board of the NoAH Horticulture Club in Minot and is sexton of the Butte Cemetary


Burlington, Minot, and Surrey


Stacey Diehl

Assistant Secretary/Treasurer

  • SRT Director since 2017
  • Senior Vice President at First international Bank & Trust
  • Resides in Minot with his wife, Kasha, and three boys
Deanna Klein

Deanna Klein


  • SRT Director since 2013
  • Professor of Business Information Technology at Minot State University
  • Member of the Board Policy & Compensation committee and serves as representative for the Foundation for
    Rural Service
  • Member of the Project Management Institute, Informing Science Institute, and the International Association for Computer Information Systems
  • Resides in Minot with her husband, Jim, they have three daughters

Benjamin Robertson

  • SRT Director since 2019
  • Co-owner of a private practice counseling business and is an Embedded Mental Health Therapist for the United States Air Force
  • Part of the local leadership in western North Dakota's LDS congregation
  • Resides in Minot with his wife, Auburn, and their 5 children